Blog

I’ve Done it – I’m Back at the Gym

Each lunchtime, as long as I feel well, I go to the gym at work.

I have a routine of cross-trainer then weights which I stick to each day.  It’s moral boosting to see the display on the cross-trainer tell me how many calories I have lost during the workout.

335x335xasthma-inhaler-jpg-xhtmlqlnimg-pagespeed-ic-2eo8yvgk2g
Ventolin Inhaler

For years, I have been dogged by poor lungs due to asthma. That in turn, has made me incredibly reluctant to exert myself past walking and gentle swimming.

However, after another Christmas helping me become festively plump, I decided to go back to the gym and actually find out what my limitations are. I’ve always been so afraid of my asthma getting out of hand if I exerted myself. A couple of really, really, bad asthma attacks would make anyone reluctant to cause another.

Much to my surprise, I have been doing really, really well.

I refuse to weigh myself to check the progress I’m making (or not). I just want my jeans to be a bit less tight, nothing drastic.

I’ve also been surprised by the motivation I have had to keep at it. It didn’t just peter out after a couple of weeks – I keep going back, day after day.

The exercise has helped alleviate some of the symptoms I have for another illness, too.

pre-owned-stock-list-13-03-205x300
Cross Trainer

Also, the aches and pains in my neck, shoulders and back have also started to ease a bit.

I’m cautiously optimistic that I will keep going and that I will start to notice more positive outcomes from my gym time.

Always good to do something to surprise yourself.

sssUntitsssled

Leave a Reply

