100 Objects Project, Uncategorized

100 Objects Project: #19 The Signed David Duchovny Picture

2016-07-16 17.20.37-1

When I was a teenager, suffice to say, I had a bit of a thing for David Duchovny and the X Files.

Seriously, it was epically huge the crush I had on him. I remember one of my English teachers in Year 9 giving me a poster of him that she found in the Radio Times. That was how well known my love for this guy was.

I think my big love for that dude came from my developing sense of what romance and love was and just noticing boys in general.

Of course, like many other teenaged girls, I developed an impractical ideology of what love and relationships were like. I think that is a reason why, when we do end up dating real life boys, it can often be rather disappointing – such is the loftiness of our expectations when we are young and innocent.

This signed picture was sent in reply to a mix tape and valentines card I sent him one year. I think I was 14 or 15 at the time.

I was so made up when I got this! It was all hearts and flowers for a good couple of weeks, where I paraded it (wrapped in a plastic wallet to protect it of course) around school. I was on cloud nine.

These days? I am not as big a fan of Mr Duchovny as I was back then, not in any way.

He’ll always have a special place in my heart though, because in whatever way it was I loved that guy, it was very much indeed. I’ll always have a lot of affection for him.

This reminds me of an innocent and pure time in my life, where love was whatever my imagination made it out to be.

Cat x

Leave a Reply

