Blog, Uncategorized

Is It Ok to Love Again So Swiftly?

I’ve idly noticed that chart topper Taylor Swift has now hooked up with Bond-tipped actor Tom Hiddleston, just a couple of weeks or so since splitting from Calvin Harris.

It just reminds me a bit of me, but then again, I was way younger than Swift when I was going through the ‘date someone for a few months’ thing. I think that happened for me between 16 and 18.

To many, it may seem too soon for her to now be with someone else. Apart from the fact that it is no-one’s business but theirs, I can only hold my hand up and claim to be just as guilty.

I imagine my reasons are wildly different to Swift’s.

I dated someone about 4 weeks after a serious long term relationship had come to an end. I had been very on and off with the guy I had been with, culminating in a final ‘on’ stint lasting 2 years in which we had been engaged.

The way I was treated in that relationship was very unpleasant and I came out the other side of it as traumatised and heavily damaged emotionally, mentally, bodily and spiritually. I was raw and badly burnt and by all rights, should not have gone into a relationship so soon. I was however, desperate to be shown that not all men behaved in the same way as my ex. I wanted to know the ‘normalcy’ of being with someone who was a good, kind person who had my interests at the fore. I wanted to know what it felt like to be treated well, for a change.

I married that possibly-too-soon guy. We’ve been married for nearly 10 years now and I can say my gamble paid off.

I doubt it is the same treatment that has propelled either Hiddleston or Swift into their current state of amour, but perhaps it was the right person at the right time.

It happened to me.

I am not judging Swift, Hiddleston or even Harris. It is their lives and I constantly bang on about how celebrities are not our property and they do not have to answer to anyone but those close to them and the law – just like the rest of us.

I suppose the story just brought back a memory of my own, too.

I hope Swift finds her forever love as, if I am putting my observational hat on, it would appear that she has dated and dated and dated without finding The One.

I do hope she finds that guy.

I do hope you all find that person, if you are still looking that is.

I do not feel smug that I found mine. Quite the contrary, I find my relationship status and position to be precious beyond any matter or currency. I am blessed.

Cat x

Leave a Reply

