Parenting

My Rainbow is Becoming a Brownie

One of those big huge hairy milestone being flung at me in the world of motherhood: my older daughter has finished Rainbows and is now about turn into a Brownie.

Just – what?

In November, my little girl (not so little – literally, she’s like Buddy Elf when stood with her classmates) hangs up the red and blue uniform and dons the yellow and brown one.

She even got a badge that said ‘Pot of Gold’ on it when she left Rainbows (geddit? The pot of gold at the end of the raindbow(s) ). Very cute, made me want to cry.

Me, as a shiny new Brownie
Me, as a shiny new Brownie

Oh it takes me back. Nostalgia aimed and ready in the direction of the days when I was a Brownie. The worst behaved Brownie in my entire pack (34th St Helens Brownie Pack, All Saints, Sutton Junction), but I was a Brownie nonetheless.

I vividly remember Brownies. I think I joined when I was 8 or 9 though.

I was the first girl to wear that new fangled yellow jumper, brown culottes and a brown sash, accessorized by a fetching yellow baseball cap that my long blonde ponytail stuck out through the back of.

Oh, and there was a yellow neckerchief and waddle.

Those were the days… and now they will be the days of my Daisy. Who is vastly better behaved than I ever was!

I loved pack holidays too. We used to go to some place I can’t remember the name of, right near Knowsley Safari Park, where we could hear the lions roaring in the morning. It was wonderful!

I also learnt what a Chick Stick was. A food stuff, apparently.

Bingo before bed, hot chocolate and ghost stories, bunkbeds… it was the stuff of fantastical childhood joy.

I hope my daughter gets from it what I did. I want her childhood resplendent in happy memories, like pretty baubles hanging off the Christmas tree of her life.

To finish my brief blog, which is more of an exclamation, I will give you the promise I had to say back then and the ending song we had to sing, to the tune of the Last Post:

I promise that will do my best

To do my duty to God

To serve the Queen

And help other people

And to keep the Brownie Guide Law

 

And…

 

Day is done

Gone the sun

From the sea

From the hills

From the sky

All is well

Safely rest

God is nigh

 

Cat x

Leave a Reply

