Blog

NaNoWriMo 2015?

Each year I find myself asking: to NaNo or not to NaNo?

For the uninitiated, NaNo is short hand for NaNoWriMo – which is itself short for ‘National Novel Writing Month’.

Although it is now an international endeavour, making the ‘national’ bit rather irrelevant, it is an event that requires you to, well, write a novel.

50,000 words of a novel, to be written between 1st and 30th of November.

I did it and completed it once, which was in 2012 (I have the certificate to prove it as well). It took A LOT of doing. I had started a secondment in a really hectic research role at work and could have done without taking on the NaNo challenge.

I did it though.

The following year, I had a brand new baby girl that took up (along with her sister) my every waking moment. Therefore, I had to prioritise Mummy business over writing.

2014 – I got sick, so had to forget about it then.

2015? That is the question. Although I’m perpetually ill it would seem, my baby is bigger and needs me to be less hands on constantly, my big one just dances around the house singing the soundtrack to ‘Rainbow Rocks’ and I am settled down in my usual role of running the world keeping it together Stuff.

It might help to do the challenge again this year. I need another draft for one of my novels, so I guess this would be the opportunity to do that. So much of it needs to be reworked, it’ll end up being a new story eventually.

But what to do?

Gah! I don’t know. I think nearer the time I will know if I am ready to do it or not. Right now, I’m in two minds about it. I love completing challenges and I love the creative focus it forces you to have (as a meandering procrastinator, this is a blessing for me creatively).

I love making worlds with words, powered by the raw vibrant core of creative wonderment inside. I just hope I can pour it all into the challenge that is NaNo.

Anyone can join in NaNoWriMo – EVEN YOU. Yes, YOU, reading this now. YOU can join in the madness, the fun, the frolics! For more information – go see the NaNoWriMo site.

Cat x

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2015?”

  1. I’m pretty sure I’m doing it this year – it must have been 2012 that I did it too, a few of us Limebirds did it together didn’t we – we can cheer each other on this year if we both do it! 🙂

  2. There must be others who go through the back-and-forth of the NaNo commitment every year. The rush of writing – both competitive and cooperative – is a fun motivator. The prizes are nice, too. 🙂

    If you do decide to go for it, good luck! I’ll be sure to cheer from my quiet sideline. 🙂

Leave a Reply

