Blog

Summer Ramblings

In a lot of ways I love the summer, but in many I dislike it too.

I have to carry with me a plethora of meds, tissues and other bits and bobs to cope with it.

I just realised today, when I was rustling through my epic mum-bag (handbag is too optimistic a term really) and realised I was carrying more things for myself in there than for my kids. That makes a big change.

It is not that they don’t still need me to have their things in there (emergency wet wipes, cardboard books, socks and sun cream to name but a few things of theirs), it is just reflective of the time of year.

I have two inhalers, buckets of tissues, antihistamines, paracetemol, perfume, ibuprofen, alcohol hand gel, eye drops, nose spray, and a lot of make-up. Having to touch up your make up when you’re sweaty and watery eyed is another rubbish thing to contend with over the summer.

Some of the things you'd usually find me lugging about with me.
Some of the things you’d usually find me lugging about with me.

I always have spare hair bobbles, a brush and a mirror. It’s not that I’m wildly vain (actually, it has taken me many, many years to see myself as anything remotely okay to look at in the mirror), I’m not, I just don’t like walking round with panda eyes or with foundation, if I wear it, clumping up because I’ve sweated. Grim, but true.

We’ve had our family holiday for the year – Butlin’s in Skegness. I love going there. It is wonderful for little ones and children up until their mid-teens, I would say.

My little ones loved it when we went earlier this year and we can’t wait to go back again next year.

We can’t afford to go abroad and frankly, we have no inclination to do so either. I can’t say travelling abroad really bothers me. I’ve been all over Europe and America. I’ve been to North Africa and all the while, I cannot say I am that bothered about it all, not when there is so much to see and experience in the country I live in. I wouldn’t want to live in any other country.

We are all at the mercy of where we are born and I am grateful, most of the time that I was born in dear old Blighty.

But I digress.

I am ridiculously allergic to dog and cat fur. I was at a mates house the other night and she has a cat (called Malcolm, love that name!) and although her cat was outside, I was still affected enough to have to use my steroid inhaler.

Antihistamines and my inhalers do actually work perfectly fine to treat any reactions I have to animals. Usually washing my face and hands as well helps too.

It is weird, seeing as I grew up with a menagerie of dogs, cats, gerbils, fish, rabbits and parrots. It is just how my chemistry is, clearly.

I’ve always been allergic to grass and pollen. I remember being at Primary school. During the summer we were allowed to play out at lunch time on the fields around the school. I remember sitting on the grass outside the nursery and the ruins of the old dinner hall, making daisy chains. My legs began swelling with these long white, knobbly welts all down my thighs and calves. It was really unpleasant. My fingers used to swell too.

The GP put me on this awful tasting substance that looked like tipex and tasted just as nice.

I then developed asthma, which was induced by the hay fever and went onto a powder inhaler.

I had hoped I would just grow out of it all, but I didn’t. In fact, it got worse as I got older, hence I am on two inhalers and have been hospitalised for several days on an acute ward due to breathing difficulties.

My immune system is shot – I pick up everything and it takes forever to fight it off, which is why I try and aim for foods and supplements that help with that.

I do wish I could just enjoy the darn summer!

I do hope you do though and if you are going away, you have a fab time 🙂

Cat x

Leave a Reply

