Blog

What Does Your Heart & Soul Look Like?

I read a quote, somewhere on Facebook probably, were someone said that you should be artistic every single day. You should paint, draw, act, sing, write, compose, play, sew, knit – something. The purpose for this industry is simply an exercise in finding out what is inside of you and seeing what those insides look like.

The idea is simple: by being creative somehow, you are showing yourself (and maybe others if you wish) what your heart and soul look like.

Have you ever wondered?

Sometimes, when I listen to my favourite song (‘Wish I Could Fly’ by Roxette), I often believe that that is the sound my soul makes. The heavy, moody strings and bass, the steady beat, the gorgeous vocals, the dreamy lyrics… perhaps we can recognise our souls architecture in the creative outpouring from other souls.

Yet, to see and even hold in your hands something that has come straight out of your head, is absolutely glorious, magical and pretty. I mean, beyond pretty and beyond magic – it reaches the depths and breadths and heights that Shakespeare referred to in one of his sonnets.

So when I write, or draw, or knit – it isn’t because I’m any good at it – it is because I think I need to understand myself better and actually see what my soul and my heart look like.

It might make you see art, hear music, even look at the design of your clothes or think about why your favourite colour is… whatever it is (mine is teal/jade/ greeny-blue, in case you ever wondered). If you apply that idea to it all and think that it is what a person’s soul looks like, you might see the world a bit differently.

How beautiful a sentiment and how glorious an idea is that? Get your inhibitions to bugger off and do this yourself. You don’t have to show anyone unless you want to – even then, you have nothing to prove to anyone but yourself.

If you do have a go at writing or drawing or organising kitchen utensils into the face of Optimus Prime on your living room floor – whatever it is – good luck and please, do send me a pic. I’d like to see that!

Take care and remember (not to sound a bit contrived, twee and all tree-huggy here), you are beautiful, in case no-one has bothered telling you this today.

Cat x

Leave a Reply

