Blog

My Journey… So Far

0-32...
Zero to Thirty-two          (Click on image for larger version)

As a parent, you watch your child change constantly. You see the world that is them go from prehistoric to medieval to the modern era. They evolve so much, that you can’t quite see it sometimes, not without getting out the photos and looking through them.

Eventually though, you come to the realisation that you too, have changed. You feel the same inside, as in, it’s still you, the same soul, but you’ve physically and emotionally changed in all the long years of your life.

You are damaged or fortified, you are bent but not broken. You are a beautiful mess, teary and smiley and mad and not… But what records show you… you?

In the past 12 months, I have done a lot of soul searching and a lot of looking back and dealing with some traumatic things in my past that have clung onto the ankles of my future, hampering its progress. Throughout my epic, inward metaphysical journey, I have found that stopping the climb up life’s mountain and looking down and back over the miles and miles of valley I’ve traversed to get this far is helpful.

What better way than photographs? Each one represents a year (the first one is ‘0’, we all have to start somewhere) in my life and my journey. Each one represents a chapter or a person I was that is very similar to the one I am now, but not quite the same.

I suppose, with this collection of images, I’m a bit like Doctor Who. You often see images of all the Doctor’s incarnations together, compiled into one image. Well, here is mine.

It took me a very long time to find all the photos and compile them into a complete picture of how I’ve changed from baby-hood into the present. It is almost unsettling, seeing my life rattle by at a rate of knots and reminds me, how quick things really are progressing with my own children.

So, please enjoy the sight of me, all of me, all of the me’s I’ve ever been and the distant half-glimpse of the me’s I have yet to become.

Try and do this yourself – it is a really interesting project to undertake (took me a couple of years! but might be less for you if you have helpful family about who can give you photos and info about them), or do it for a loved one. Very worthwhile and gives a lovely sense of self worth I suppose.

Cat x

2 thoughts on “My Journey… So Far”

Leave a Reply

