Uncategorized

Back to Work, Remembering Robin and Peace

Hello my beautiful readership,

I’ve been back at work for a couple of weeks or so now… and I’m certainly missing my babies more than I can say.

I was seconded before I left for maternity leave to work on a research project at the top level, so I’m back doing my original job, which I was still learning the ropes of before the secondment… So a bit mad and in flux. I hate not knowing what I’m doing a lot of the time and I feel a bit at sea with it all. I will of course get to grips, but I’m trying to remember doing something from 2 years ago now, that I was still learning and only did for a couple of years. Before that, I was in the realms of a role I’d been doing for 9 years.

No rest for the wicked, ay?

Writing Update

Due to a rather large amount of personal stuff going on with me at the moment, I have been inspired to write a few vignette’s. There’s eight or so at the moment and they serve as little snap shots of stories, but I guess, all about the same one. They are rather adult in theme (not necessarily sexual, I might add), so if I did share them on here, there would be a warning for younger readers to avoid and read at own risk etc.

Mind you, you know me and my stance on publication…

Robin Williams

I woke up to the sad and tragic news that legendary actor Robin Williams had passed away yesterday. I won’t speculate on the cause of his death as that has not been rightly and properly determined, it would be inconsiderate to his family and is frankly – none of my business. It wasn’t his death, but his life that I was touched by. He was a staple in my house as a kid. Hook, Aladdin, Mrs Doubtfire… all films I have now shared with my own children. My older daughter especially loves Jumanji.

He wasn’t just an epic comedy turn either. He was a fantastically moving serious actor too. He could move you without you realising it. He had this far reaching sadness inside him that would touch the corner of his smile in so many of his roles. He was a fantastic and fun actor and I am so pleased to have been alive at the same time as him and seen his work.

He will be one of those actors that I tell my kids about when they get older, when I tell them about my childhood and the films I used to go and see at the cinema.

When I was about 12, I was utterly obsessed with the Genie from Aladdin. That versatility and boundless joy from just voice acting alone, inspired my own acting and made me the usual pick for comedy roles.

Rest in peace, Robin. Thoughts of love and peace are with your family and friends right now.

The World

What an utterly unpleasant place the world is right now. I just don’t get it. Why are people mean and horrible to each other for no real reason? Why can’t we all just get along? If there is a God, then I promise he/she/it does not care if you’ve bombed and maimed someone in his/her/its name. God cares more if you’ve gotten off your backside and helped someone and done something kind, selfless and useful instead of sitting there feeling sorry for yourself and being incapable of accepting responsibility or blame for the stuff that goes on in your life.

Peace for peace instead of an eye for an eye.

Forgive and love.

As John Lennon said: “imagine”.

I hope you are all okay and life is being kind to you and yours.

Cat x

Leave a Reply

