Parenting

Teeth & Legs

Having my two youngest kids five years apart has been very challenging, but also really quite fun!

They are developing in very different ways to each other and are at completely different stages, which for me to watch unfold is absolutely fascinating and lovely. I’m a very proud Mum.

At the moment, the biggest things going on are teeth and legs.

My five year old is unusually tall for her age and is more comparable with an average 7 or 8 year old. Part of me feels a bit short-changed by the fact she is getting big at a rate of knots. Where’s my baby gone?

Her two biggest growing related issues are her teeth and her legs. Her legs are very, very long (so she is not built like me!) and she is frequently woken up in the night with ‘growing pains’. My husband and I have spent many a night sat up with her, rubbing her legs to get the cramp out of them as her little body lengthens once more.

She is super tall, but then again, her Dad is 6’2” and my brother is about 6’3”, she I don’t think she was ever going to short. Although, to be fair, it could have gone the other way and she could have ended up like me. A complete short arse. At 5’4”, I’m really little and it does annoy me.

Her teeth are also starting to wobble and come away, with the big adult teeth coming through, hot on their heels. We lost the first tooth last night and, of course, the tooth fairy paid her very first visit to my five year old daughter.

She was made up and half hysterical with joy by the fact a real-life fairy had been to see her in her sleep.

I won’t tell if you don’t.

The teeth coming through for her have also had their problems – pain, discomfort and just plain annoyance.

I sat there yesterday trying to wriggle the tooth free for her, but gave up in the end and told her to keep playing with it whilst she watched the Powerpuff Girls. It did the trick, so I can’t complain.

The baby though, is having other teeth-related issues.

As any parent will tell you, teething sucks something awful and getting that out of the way is just as wonderful as getting the nappy stage and toilet training stage out of the way.

At exactly 8 months on the dot, my babba suddenly decided to sprout two teeth at the same time. This lead to plenty of sleepless nights, interesting nappies and one very, very cranky baby.

I was kind of happy for her to just get the darn things out of her gums and into daylight, so she could at least have some respite from the pain and discomfort.

Now the first two are out, the next lot are coming through, leading to another patch of angry, slobbery, chewing-everything-in-sight, cranky babyness.

Babyness is totally a word.

As for me? I’m just getting my body back on track after being pregnant and breastfeeding for a year and a half, if not more.

We went out for our wedding anniversary a couple of days ago and after a couple of glasses of wine I felt really sick. I’m just a complete light weight at the moment! It is going to take me a while to get myself back on track. At least I’ve lost a lot of weight, so I’m happy with that at least.

I think the whole process has aged me loads! Found my first grey hairs a few weeks ago and the lines under my eyes have lines.

Was it worth it though? I’ve come to the end of having any more children, so this is it. Yeah, completely and utterly worth it. Never again mind, but totally worth it!

I couldn’t do it without the best bloke in the world by my side – my scrumptious husband, Mr Mercer. He is just the best husband and of course Dad, ever. He really is. The girls adore their father and he adores them. It’s lovely seeing him so in love with his children and I couldn’t have picked a better Dad for my babies. He really is the mutts nuts when it comes to Dad’s.

It is also worth mentioning that the baby is crawling like a pro and is coasting on everything. You cannot take your eyes off her for a second!

All aging me enormously! All part of the joy of being a Mum though and I’d not have it any other way.

Leave a Reply

