100 Objects Project

100 Objects Project #3: The 5th Diary

This item is a bit of a cheat. It should have technically come under the first item in the series, but the thing is, I lost it. It gets its own entry because I am so goddamn relieved to have found it!

The missing 5th Diary which covered Dec 00 - Nov 01
The missing 5th Diary which covered Dec 00 – Nov 01

This is my fifth diary which looked at my late teens between December 2000 and November 2001.

It took me less than a year to fill it, mainly because so much happened in those 11 months.

They led up to me leaving home (a few times), doing my A-Levels and starting University. It also deals with my early days with the ‘First Love’.

As a special treat, I have taken a photo of one particular entry that deals with me essentially gushing about the First Love and the fact he had just asked me to marry him a few days prior.

A sample diary entry from 5th diary from Tuesday 14th August 01, a week after I got engaged.
A sample diary entry from 5th diary from Tuesday 14th August 01, a week after I got engaged.

I kind of feel a bit sad. The girl in this entry had no idea what was ahead of her. She had no idea that on the same day, two years later, that boy who put that ring on her finger would be long gone and making the exact same noises of endless love and forever commitment to some other girl.

But I was young and hopeful and stupidly in love. This diary certainly sums up that period in my life.

Haha, we all live and learn, eh?

Leave a Reply

