Blog

NaNoWriMo and Filming for Limebirds

I am NaNoWriMo-ing like you wouldn’t believe at the moment.

Okay, bit of an exaggeration there. I’ve only managed just under 7k words so far. My life is too busy! I’m a busy working Mum and trying to sit there and hammer out the words I need is proving tricky.

I can do a bit during each of my lunch breaks, so it’s not too bad. The NaNoWriMo bot concludes that I must write 1700 odd words per day to stay on target.

I am really looking forward to doing it.

Writing under these conditions has really helped focus me. I’m ransacking my memories and experiences to find things to write about and I am doing so well, better than before. Usually I write with abandon and come up with something disjointed and contrived.

Now, with the pressure of NaNo, I’m having to frantically fling aside all that artistic gubbins and fill my word count with more of myself than I’ll probably be wholly comfortable with.

It’s mega really.

I’m finding myself and my voice a lot easier here in this escapade. To be fair though, I have been planning and plotting this story for about 18 months, so its not too bad. I’m just forced to focus.

I think that it’ll need a vast overall and edit after NaNo is over, which is simply how it is really. I’m not happy with the slow pace of chapter one or the level of exposition I’m going for. It seems a little bit, well, blah.

I’ll worry about all that in the edit though.

On another topic… I spent Sunday afternoon in Haworth, West Yorkshire. It’s one of my favourite places in the world ever, not least because I used to live there with my husband before we married. As a writer and former English student, it has a special place in my heart.

Whilst there, I created a little film about inspiration in writing for the Limebird Writers blog I write for. If you want to amuse yourself beyond belief, then please feel free to have a look. It was filmed in front of the Bronte Parsonage Museum – well worth a visit if you are ever up that way. 

I go on about how Haworth may look pretty now, but back in the days of the Bronte’s, it wasn’t. It was a little industrial speck of a village, clinging onto the landscape. It encountered disease and poverty like most tiny villages of its day. Its hard to believe it was like that all those years ago and its hard to imagine the reality those women in that parsonage faced. Let alone the fate of the people of the village who wouldn’t have been anywhere near as fortunate as them.

The graveyard in front of the parsonage is estimated to hold the remains of 40,000 people. Walking around it, you can understand that. What I find most disturbing, is the fact that there are countless and I mean countless graves for children and babies. Very, very, heartbreaking.

Anyway, give it a view.

Yes, before you even comment on it – I realise I channelled Brian Cox all the way though. No, I’m not a professional (as if you needed telling!).

Fun fact about the film – it was filmed by my husband on my phone and directed by my four year old daughter. No-one argues with a 4 year old!

Good luck to all you fellow writers and NaNoWriMo-ers out there,
Cat x

Leave a Reply

