Poetry

Poem: The Garden of Discontent

Hello all!

No, I haven’t abandoned you all!

I thought I’d share a poem with you all, one that I wrote many, many moons ago. Tis’ an angsty, or perhaps a sad lament as the last line would suggest. Either way, I was not a cheery chipmunk when I wrote this. It’s what I love about poetry: I can capture on emotion like catching a butterfly in a jar. It’s so cathartic and pure and wonderful. You can just snatch at how you feel and lay it there, raw and naked on the page.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Garden of Discontent

Back to the garden of discontent

Back to the dungeon of despair

Down to resolute agony

Back to tearing-prying pain

Slink off before wondering eyes

Hide from the pain of loss

Watch again the flowers grow

In the season on lament.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Written 11th April 2003 when I was in my 2nd year of University. I was going through a rather trying, unhappy time (if you couldn’t tell). However, for me, written expression is not only a form of therapy when you are unhappy, but one of those ‘something good from something bad’ sorts of things.

Hope you enjoyed.

Cat x

1 thought on “Poem: The Garden of Discontent”

Leave a Reply

