Blog

Art Snobbery

One of my former tutors from University posted on their Facebook timeline (and therefore it came up on mine) a link to a picture on a page called ‘Museum of Poor Art’. It seems to be a page set up to mock people’s art work that people deem to be ‘bad’ or unworthy of whatever bizarre standards they have.

I’ve looked at some of these apparent ‘poor’ pieces of art and realised that they were more peoples impressions of their subject, rather than a studied and all out attempt to recreate something to photographic standard.

Although I think there is a lot of technical skill in recreating something so that it looks lifelike, like in a photo, I don’t see the point. Take a photo if that’s what you’re after. Otherwise, something that is stylised – a take on something if you will, is far more endearing to my eye. It is that simple, rudimentary translation between eye, brain and hand that I find wondrous.

Your eye saw the subject, your brain interpreted the image and translated it, as best it could, to your hands as you try to recreate it. How dare any other individual call that poor. How dare anyone say it was not good enough. You tried – who the hell wrote the book that says whats right or wrong with your ‘translation’.

To me, it is a form of bullying. Taking something someone has done and mocking it, openly in public, is a disgrace. If you do not appreciate the piece, either critique it sensibly and objectively, or say nothing at all.

This just harks back to my post from yesterday about this snobbery that’s rife within the literary world and indeed, the wider world of art.

Just – argh! This whole thing. It just winds me up.

I’ll probably rant some more I reckon at some point about this, but for now, I’ll stop. For my blood pressures sake at the very least X)

Cat x

UPDATE:

Here is the comment I left on the Facebook page for this awful site:

“Words fail me. This is the most awful place I’ve found online. 17k people think its okay to openly mock and bully others who they do not feel meet whatever bizarre lofty standards they have of what they consider ‘good’ or ‘bad’ art. Either critique something sensibly and objectively, or say nothing at all. This is simply cruel, faceless bullying. I hope you all feel great with yourselves for sniggering at what you believe to be ‘bad’, when, to the person who tried their best to create the pieces, it was all they could do. Who are any of us to say what’s good or bad? Even an artist can go ‘yeah, I didn’t really like it either and it wasn’t great’, but most of the time, some artists won’t feel that way. They’ll be really hurt. If someone tried, then who cares? Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I have honestly felt physically sick looking at this page. SMH”

6 thoughts on “Art Snobbery”

  1. I totally agree with you – It’s ridiculous the way in which some consider art to be one way or another. Art is something that’s interpreted differently by everyone and I think it almost seems as if one claims the position of God in determining the so called “good art”.

    1. Oh definitely! Really winds me up. If something is not to your taste, then fair enough, but why go out of your way to deride it? So silly and petty and it seems terribly rife 😕 Thanks for reading and commenting on my post! x

Leave a Reply

