Poetry

Poem: Touched

Touched

Kitty had a lighter touch
much stronger than you and me
forgotten in a sea of sock people
her mind screaming silently
she sat up sad
strangely glad
and said, ‘This is how it’s got to be.’

Taking in her fate
Locked up without the key
She said, ‘All of my time is lost
and I can’t count the cost to me’
With that quote
She caught the boat
And sailed away to watch a dream

~

Background

Written on the 13th January 2005.

I really liked this poem, it’s flow, it’s imagery – it’s simple and perfect, like a dream. What is it about? Well, that would be boring if I laid it all out for you. I might do with some of my poems, but this one is for you to figure out yourself. Someone who read this said that they thought it was about a cat. I didn’t write it about cat’s or any other small furry creature, but I could understand where she was coming from with that notion. I hope you enjoy 🙂 C x

Publication

Update:

This poem has been published on ‘The Pygmy Giant’ blog here – December 2011

Leave a Reply

